Power and Data Engineering (PDE)

©jaroslava V-shutterstock

Supplying a world with a steadily growing population and wealth with sustainable energy is one of the biggest challenges of our time. It requires a fundamental transformation of the global energy sector – and it requires well-educated engineers to implement this transformation and manage future energy systems. You can become one of them by studying Power and Data Engineering at Offenburg University!

© agsandrew-shutterstock

The energy transition has started already, especially in Germany, but also in many other areas of the world. More and more, electrical and heating power is being generated by a multitude of smaller, decentralized renewable-energy systems. Both private and commercial consumers are increasingly installing local energy management systems with storage to optimize their energy supply. These systems are still connected to the local grids to balance their own power flows and to ensure supply. The local grids in turn are connected with larger transmission grids. All of this is organized by a growing number of stakeholders and based on old and new market structures.    

These new levels of complexity can only be managed on the basis of an efficient and secure IT infrastructure in combination with advanced methods of data engineering – combined with a deep understanding of the underlying energy systems.    

Offenburg’s “Power and Data Engineering” Master’s degree program prepares you exactly for this exciting challenge. You will gain expertise in power generation based on solar, wind, hydro, biomass and conventional fuels, on storage, transport and distribution of energy via grids, and on final energy usage and management by customers. Furthermore, you will acquire modern methods of data engineering and data analytics and how to model and simulate power systems. Many of our professors and lecturers have practical experience from working in global energy companies, engineering services or consulting firms. Through lectures and discussions, students learn all about the current hot topics of the energy sector.  
 
Studying Power and Data Engineering means, first of all, developing comprehensive expertise in energy systems and energy management, but also taking into consideration the relevant economic, social, and political environments. Graduates of our program with its international orientation will be well prepared for leadership positions around the globe. 

PDE at Offenburg University

Offenburg University enjoys an excellent reputation and consistently high ratings in nationwide rankings. Offenburg is a smaller university, and hence students benefit from the advantages of a manageable educational facility with personal attention from instructors. It also offers comprehensive services and close integration with the regional economy.

 

Program at a Glance

Degree Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Language of instruction English (first semester) and German (second semester)
Duration of program 3 semesters
Beginning of study program Winter semester (October)
Application deadline July 15 / April 30 (for students requiring visa)
Tuition and fees Social contribution per semester: EUR 274
Tuition fees per semester: EUR 1500* (for exemptions, see below)
Application requirements Above-average Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Mechanical Engineering, Process Engineering, Energy Engineering or related field, TOEFL iBT 79 or IELTS 6.0, German B1, APS (only for applicants from China and Vietnam)
Internship Not required
Selection procedure Yes
Accreditation Yes
ECTS 90 credits

* You are exempted from the tuition fees (EUR 1500) if:

  • You have received your qualification of university entrance from the state of Germany
  • You are a citizen of the EU and/or the EEA
  • You participate in an ERASMUS program
  • You are officially recognized as a refugee in Germany
  • You are an exchange student from one of Offenburg University's partner universities, or
  • You were already enrolled at Offenburg University before the 2017/2018 winter semester

This information is supplied without liability.
The jurisdiction on the exemption from tuition lies with the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg.

Power and Data Engineering (PDE)

©jaroslava V-shutterstock

Eine der größten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit ist die nachhaltige Versorgung der wachsenden Weltbevölkerung mit Energie. Dies erfordert  weltweit eine fundamentale Umwälzung des  Energiesektors - und ist nur mit gut  ausgebildeten Ingenieuren zu bewältigen, die diese Veränderungsprozesse mitgestalten. Konkret müssen mit leistungsfähigen Methoden effiziente Energiesysteme geplant, gebaut und betrieben werden. Der Master-Studiengang “Power and Data Engineering“ an der Hochschule Offenburg bereitet Sie auf genau diese Aufgaben vor.

© agsandrew-shutterstock

Die Energiewende hat bereits begonnen, speziell in Deutschland, aber auch in vielen anderen Ländern der Welt. Immer häufiger werden elektrische Energie sowie Heiz- und Prozesswärme von einer Vielzahl kleiner, dezentraler Systeme auf  Basis erneuerbarer Energien bereitgestellt. Sowohl private als auch kommerzielle Verbraucher installieren zunehmend lokale Energie-Management-Systeme mit Energiespeichern, um ihre Energieversorgung zu optimieren. Diese Systeme sind an Verteilnetze angeschlossen, so dass Energieüberschüsse bzw. Energiemangel zunächst regional ausgeglichen werden können. Die Verteilnetze sind mit  Übertragungsnetzen, die einen überregionalen Energietransport ermöglichen, verbunden. All dies wird von einer wachsenden Anzahl an Akteuren organisiert, wobei sich die Marktstrukturen stetig wandeln.

Diese komplexen vernetzen Systeme können nur mit einer effizienten und sicheren IT-Technik sicher betrieben werden. Die notwendigen Algorithmen müssen mit modernen Methoden der sich gerade etablierenden Disziplin des „Data Engineering“ auf Basis eines tiefen Verständnisses der entsprechenden Energiesysteme entwickelt werden. 

Das Master-Programm “Power and Data Engineering” bereitet Sie genau auf diese spannende Herausforderung vor. Sie lernen Solar-, Wind- und Wasserenergie, Biomasse und konventionelle Brennstoffe im Hinblick auf die Wandlung in elektrische Energie kennen. Weiterhin erwerben Sie Kenntnisse über Energiespeicher, elektrische Netze,  Energieanwendungen und Energiemanagement.

Insbesondere werden Sie neueste Methoden der Energieinformatik, der Datenanalyse sowie der Modellierung und Simulation von Energiesystemen erlernen. Viele unserer Professoren und Lehrbeauftragten verfügen über praktische Berufserfahrungen in globalen Energie-Unternehmen, Ingenieur-Büros oder Beratungsfirmen.

Mit Hilfe der Vorlesungen und Diskussionen lernen Studierende alles über die aktuellen Themen des Energiesektors. Das Master-Studium “Power and Data Engineering“ ermöglicht es seinen Studierenden, eine umfassende Expertise in den Bereichen Energiesysteme und Energiemanagement zu entwickeln – immer jedoch unter gleichzeitiger Berücksichtigung aller relevanter wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und politischen Bedingungen.

Absolventinnen und Absolventen unseres Programms werden aufgrund der internationalen Ausrichtung bestens vorbereitet sein auf Führungspositionen in der ganzen Welt.

PDE an der Hochschule Offenburg

Die Hochschule Offenburg genießt einen hervorragenden Ruf, sie ist vom "Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft" als "Reform Fachhochschule" ausgezeichnet und schneidet bei bundesweiten Hochschulrankings stets sehr gut ab. Die Hochschule Offenburg ist keine Massenuniversität. Die Studierenden profitieren von den Vorzügen einer überschaubaren Bildungseinrichtung mit individueller Betreuung durch die Dozenten und umfangreichen Serviceleistungen sowie einer engen Verzahnung mit der regionalen Wirtschaft.

PDE auf einen Blick

Abschlussgrad Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Unterrichtssprache Englisch (erstes Semester) und Deutsch (zweites Semester)
Regelstudienzeit 3 Semester
Studienbeginn Wintersemester (Oktober)
Bewerbungsschluss 15. Juli / 30. April (für Bewerber/innen die ein Visum benötigen)
Studiengebühren Verwaltungsgebühr und Sozialbeitrag pro Semester: EUR 274
Studiengebühren pro Semester: EUR 1500 (Ausnahmen siehe unten)
Zulassungsvoraussetzungen Überdurchschnittlicher Bachelor in Elektrotechnik, Informatik, Maschinenbau, Verfahrenstechnik, Energietechnik oder ähnlichem, TOEFL iBT 79 oder IELTS 6.0, Deutsch B1, APS (für Bewerber aus China und Vietnam)
Vorpraktikum nicht erforderlich
Auswahlverfahren Ja
Akkreditierung Ja
ECTS 90 Credits

* Sie sind von den 1500 EUR Studiengebühren befreit wenn Sie: 

  • Ihr Abitur in Deutschland erworben haben
  • Bürger der Europäischen Union und/oder der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft sind
  • an einem ERASMUS Programmen teilnehmen
  • In Deutschland als Flüchtling anerkannt sind
  • Austauschstudierende/r von einer Partnerhochschule sind
  • bereits vor dem Wintersemester 2017/2018 in dem Studiengang eingeschrieben waren

Diese Angaben sind ohne Gewähr. Rechtlich bindend sind die jeweils aktuellen Gesetze des Landes Baden-Württemberg.