Senior Service

Settling in a new country and a new home is always difficult.  Realizing this, Offenburg University of Applied Sciences in cooperation with the City of Offenburg initiated the Senior Service program. 

The members of the Senior Service are local citizens interested in fostering intercultural understanding, and they work on a voluntary basis. Organized city tours and informal get-togethers give students the opportunity to discuss topics of everyday life in Germany and Offenburg. Students may also be invited into the Senior Service members' homes or attend cultural events with them. The Senior Service may sometimes be able to help you in locating internships or even in finding a job. And of course you'll also have the opportunity to practice your German language skills while participating in these activities. 

Started in 2002, the Senior Service was the first of its kind in Germany and has been going strong ever since.  The City of Offenburg has recognized the importance of this program especially in view of a globalized economy, and the Mayor of Offenburg, Edith Schreiner, is its official patron. In 2005, the Senior Service was awarded a respectable prize for its volunteer commitment by the Bundesnetzwerk Bürgerschaftliches Engagement ("National Network for Civil Society"), and in 2010 it was awarded by the Association for the Promotion of Science and Humanities in Germany.

A great number of students have benefited from the Senior Service, and the relationships that are formed with its members often become enduring friendships across generations and cultures. The Senior Service is a crucial reason why international students come to feel at home here in Offenburg.

 

 

Statements from International Students about the Senior Service

Selvi from Indonesia

"Senior Service Offenburg... It's a very good organization full of kind, creative and lovely people. It has blessed my life especially during my stay in Germany..."

Pinaki from India

"Being the friends, philosophers and guides for the international students, members of the Senior Service are like another wonderful jewel in the crown of the Hochschule Offenburg."

Wolde from Ethiopia

"I don't have a word to express my feelings about Senior Service, but it always made me feel at home whenever I would meet 'my' member. I had the same feeling as when I talk to my mom."

Senior Service

Sich in einem fremden Land zurecht zu finden, ist am Anfang nicht immer einfach. Um internationalen Studierenden dabei zu helfen, sich schneller in ihre neue Umgebung einzuleben, hat die Hochschule Offenburg in Kooperation mit dem Seniorenbüro der Stadt Offenburg den Senior Service ins Leben gerufen.

Ziel des Senior Services ist es, internationale Studierende während ihrer Zeit in Deutschland zu unterstützen, ihnen bei Problemen rund um das Studium oder bei alltäglichen Fragen beratend zur Seite zu stehen und ihnen deutsche Kultur und Sprache näher zu bringen. 

Die "Seniors" – ehrenamtlich tätige Offenburger Seniorinnen und Senioren – besuchen zusammen mit den Studierenden Konzerte, Ausstellungen oder Theateraufführungen und erkunden die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Umgebung. Sie laden die jungen Menschen zu Familienfesten zu sich nach Hause ein und kochen gemeinsam. Manchmal helfen sie sogar bei Bewerbungen oder der Suche nach einer Praktikumsstelle. Und sie sprechen zusammen deutsch. So bekommen die internationalen Studierenden die Möglichkeit, Deutschland hautnah zu erleben. 

Den Senior Service gibt es seit 2002.  Im Jahr 2005 wurde das Projekt im Rahmen der bundesweiten Kampagne "Aktionstage zum bürgerschaftlichen Engagement" vom Bundesnetzwerk Bürgerschaftliches Engagement als einziges Projekt in Baden-Württemberg ausgewählt und als Vorbild für andere Hochschulen gewürdigt. Im Dezember 2010 wurde der Senior Service vom Stifterverband für die deutsche Wissenschaft mit der Hochschulperle ausgezeichnet. Die Offenburger Bürgermeisterin Edith Schreiner unterstützt den Senior Service als Schirmherrin.

Bei den internationalen Studierenden wird der Senior Service sehr geschätzt und reichlich in Anspruch genommen. Der Austausch zwischen den Senior Service-Mitgliedern und den Studierenden mündet oft in dauerhafte freundschaftliche Verbindungen. Der Senior Service leistet einen großen Beitrag dazu, dass sich internationale Studierende in Offenburg und an der Hochschule wohl und wie zu Hause fühlen.

 

 

Meinungen internationaler Studierender zum Senior Service

Selvi aus Indonesien

"Senior Service Offenburg... It's a very good organization full of kind, creative and lovely people. It has blessed my life especially during my stay in Germany..."

"Der Senior Service Offenburg... Ein super Verein bestehend aus sehr vielen netten, kreativen und liebevollen Menschen. Er hat mein Leben, vor allem während meines Aufenthalts in Deutschland, sehr bereichert..."

Pinaki aus India

"Being the friends, philosophers and guides for the international students, members of the senior service are like another wonderful jewel in the crown of the Hochschule Offenburg."

"Indem sie gute Freunde, philosophische Begleiter und Wegweiser für die internationalen Studierenden sind, sind die Mitglieder des Senior Service ein weiteres wundervolles Juwel in der Schatzkiste der Hochschule Offenburg."

Wolde aus Ethiopia

"I dont't have a word to express my feelings about Senior Service, but it always made me feel at home whenever I would meet "my" member. I had the same feeling as when I talk to my mum".

"Ich kann meine Gefühle über den Senior Service nicht mit einem Wort beschreiben, aber ich fühle mich immer wie zu Hause wenn ich "mein" Mitglied des Senior Service treffe. Ich habe dann das gleiche Gefühl, wie wenn ich mit meiner Mutter spreche."